29th West Bengal State Science & Technology Congress, 2022

The 29th Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis Smriti Baktrita



Organised by The Department of Science and Technology and Biotechnology, Government of West Bengal

On Feb 28, 2022• 6:00 PM • YouTube channel of WBSCST

123-456-789

For details visit dstbt.bangla.gov.in



Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee

Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee is the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 2003 he co-founded the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL) with Esther Duflo and Sendhil Mullainathan, and he remains one of the Lab's Directors. Banerjee is a fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Econometric Society. He is a winner of the Infosys Prize a co-recipient of the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel for his groundbreaking work in development economics research.

Abhijit is the author of a large number of articles and five books, including Poor Economics, which won the Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year, and Good Economics for Hard Times, both co-authored with Esther Duflo. He is the editor of three more books and has directed two documentary films. Banerjee has served on the U.N. Secretary-General's High-level Panel of Eminent Persons on the Post-2015 Development Agenda. He is a trustee of Save the Children USA and the Chair of the Global Education Evidence Advisory Panel and the Global Advisory Board for Covid-19 Response of the Government of West Bengal.

How health markets work in India

Healthcare is a marketed commodity in India. However, for reasons pointed out by Arrow almost sixty years ago, markets are not a natural fit for healthcare and generate a number of very problematic issues. This presentation will discuss these issues and possible remedies.



List of speakers of the Prasanta Chandra Mahalanobis Memorial Lecture over the years

Year	Name of the Speaker
1994 - 1st WBSSTC	Prof. B. P. Adhikari
1995 - 2nd WBSSTC	Dr. A. P. Mitra
1996 - 3rd WBSSTC	Prof. Satyabrata Sen
1997 - 4th WBSSTC	Prof. Sushil Kumar Mukhopadhyay
1998 - 5th WBSSTC	Dr. Saroj Ghosh
1999 - 6th WBSSTC	Prof. Rathindra Narayan Basu
2000 – 7th WBSSTC	Prof. Amitava Ghosh
2001 - 8th WBSSTC	Dr. Dilip Biswas
2002 - 9th WBSSTC	Sri Subir Raha
2003 - 10thWBSSTC	Prof. Jayanta Ghosh
2004 - 11th WBSSTC	Prof. Chanchal Dasgupta
2005 - 12th WBSSTC	Prof. Asis Dutta
2006 - 13th WBSSTC	Prof. Sandip Kumar Basu
2007 - 14th WBSSTC	Prof. Devkumar Basu
2008-15th WBSSTC	Prof. S. Bramhachari
2009 - 16th WBSSTC	Dr. Pushpito Ghosh
2010 - 17th WBSSTC	Dr. Srikumar Banerjee
2011 - 18th WBSSTC	Dr. Parthapratim Majumder
2012 - 19th WBSSTC	Dr. Mahan Maharaj
2013 - 20th WBSSTC	Prof. Palash Baran Pal.
2014 - 21st WBSSTC	Dr. D. N. Guha Mazumder
2015 - 22nd WBSSTC	Prof. Ajoy Kumar Ray
2016 - 23rd WBSSTC	Prof. Dipankar Chatterjee
2017 - 24th WBSSTC	Prof. Dipankar Das Sarma
2018 – 25th WBSSTC	Dr. Mani Lal Bhaumik
2019 - 26th WBSSTC	Prof. Dhrubajyoti Mukhopadhyay
2020 - 27th WBSSTC	Prof. Partha Pratim Chakrabarti
2021 - 28th WBSSTC	Swami Atmapriyananda